Samuel Brown and Sandra Simmons Win Eastburn Community Service Award

(Coatesville, Pennsylvania) –

The recipients of the 2021 Brandywine Health Foundation’s prestigious Eastburn Community Service Award are Samuel Brown and Sandra Simmons. Established in 2016, the Eastburn Award recognizes local heroes who have made meaningful contributions to the Coatesville community. During a worldwide pandemic and major social unrest, Samuel Brown and Sandra Simmons emerged as local changemakers who provided the support and inspiration necessary for members of our community to thrive and succeed.

Samuel Brown began his community involvement as a youth participant for the Coatesville Youth I

nitiative Service Corp program, where he is now the Project Coordinator. He has served at the Adolescents Achieving Independence program and the Youth Advisory Board to create resources for youth involved with the foster care system

. Samuel utilized innovative support during the pandemic by creating and delivering self-care packages to the Chester County Youth Center and developing a virtual program to provide youth with experiences from home. Samuel’s business, Faith and Effort, has empowered and inspired individuals to create their “Dream Lifestyle” by trusting in themselves and maximizing their effort levels. A $2,500 grant will be awarded to the Coatesville Youth Initiative in Samuel’s honor.

As an active changemaker in the community, Sandra Simmons

is a member of the board of directors of the Housing Authority of Chester County, a member of the Board of Trustees of Lincoln University, and a member of the Coatesville Rotary Club. She has more than 20 years of experience in Human Resources and EEO to provide diversity and inclusion training to multiple sanctions.

Sandra founded the Women’s League for Minority Education, which has provided scholarships to students of color in Chester County for over 30 years. Sandra builds on this community pillar by

volunteering at the Atkinson Shelter and the American Heart Association, all while serving as a Missionary and Sunday School Teacher at Mt. Tabor Church. A $2,500 grant award will be designated to the Women’s League for Minority Education in Sandra’s honor.

Recipients have the opportunity to select a non-profit(s) to receive a grant in their honor (noted below in parentheses). Past awardees include Pierre Annaballi (Coatesville Area Public Library), Robert “Bob” A. Spatola (Handi-Crafters, Inc., and Coatesville Youth Initiative), Steve and Shannon Kirk (Scott Field Project) and Sgt. Rodger Ollis, Jr. (Chester County Food Bank, Coatesville Kids to College, David’s Drive 831, Domestic Violence Center of Chester County and Salvation Army of Coatesville). The Eastburn Award was made possible by inaugural funding from Dallas Krapf and the Krapf Bus Company, and additional support from other generous individuals in the community. The award was created in honor of Jane and Al Eastburn for their decades-long service to the Coatesville area.

8 views0 comments